Real Madrid Crowned UEFA Champions 2016/17 Season!!!

Sergio Ramos is presented with the trophy, walks to the front of the podium where he is surrounded by his team-mates and hoists it skywards. Real Madrid are champions of Europe for the 12th time in their history.

Real Madrid’s dozen European Cups

Real Madrid strengthened their position as the European Cup’s dominant force with their 12th victory in the competition – and are also the first to six UEFA Champions League wins.

Real Madrid have strengthened their position as the European Cup’s dominant force with their 12th victory in the competition following their 4-1 triumph over Juventus in Cardiff – and have also become the first team to successfully defend the title in the UEFA Champions League era.

Madrid had got the better of neighbours Atlético in Milan last year for their 11th win, becoming in the process the first side to five victories in the UEFA Champions League per se. However, not since AC Milan in 1990 – in the old European Champion Clubs’ Cup days – had a club retained the trophy, and Madrid did precisely that against Juventus in Welsh capital. They duly earned their 12th continental title, and a sixth in the UEFA Champions League era from as many finals.

Real Madrid’s opener in the final made them the first club to 500 goals in the UEFA Champions League – who have they found the net against most? Who are the only team they have drawn a blank against?

Real Madrid have become the first team to score 500 goals in the UEFA Champions League.

All-time UEFA Champions League goals*
503: Real Madrid
459: Barcelona
415: Bayern München
350: Manchester United
281: Arsenal
264: Juventus
249: Chelsea
231: AC Milan
218: Porto
187: Lyon

Cristiano Ronaldo makes history by scoring in 3rd UEFA Champions League Final

Real Madrid

Cristiano Ronaldo has become the first player to score in three UEFA Champions League finals following his strike in the 20th minute of Real Madrid’s decider with Juventus in Cardiff.

The Portugal forward’s made history with that opener and then his second ensured he overtook Lionel Messi as this season’s competition top scorer on 12, and took his UEFA Champions League-record career tally to 105. Ronaldo had previously scored a late penalty for Madrid when they beat Atlético 4-1 after extra time in Lisbon three years ago and also registered in Manchester United’s 1-1 draw with Chelsea in Moscow in 2008, though he missed in the shoot-out win. Sergio Ramos also scored in the 2014 final and repeated the trick last year.

Raúl González had been the first player to find the net in two UEFA Champions League finals, for Real Madrid in 2000 and 2002, with Samuel Eto’o matching him in Barcelona’s victories in 2006 and 2009. Messi, meanwhile, struck against Manchester United both in Rome in 2009 and at Wembley in 2011.

In European Cup terms, Alfredo Di Stéfano remains out in front having played and scored in the competition’s first five finals, all won by Madrid. He was the only player to have notched in more than two finals before Ronaldo’s strike in Cardiff. Di Stéfano and his Madrid team-mate Ferenc Puskás also share the European Cup record of seven final goals apiece.

Before tonight, only Ronaldo and Velibor Vasović of Partizan and Ajax had scored in finals for two different clubs. Mario Mandžukić – on target for Bayern against Dortmund at Wembley in 2013 and again in Cardiff – emulated that achievement tonight.

Scoring in two or more European Cup finals
Alfredo Di Stefano (Real Madrid 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960)
José Héctor Rial (Real Madrid 1956, 1958)
Francisco Gento (Real Madrid 1957, 1958)
Ferenc Puskás (Real Madrid 1960, 1962)
Mário Coluna (Benfica 1961, 1962)
José Aguas (Benfica 1961, 1962)
Eusébio (Benfica 1962, 1963)
Sandro Mazzola (Internazione Milano 1964, 1967)
Velibor Vasović (Partizan 1966, Ajax 1969)
Tommy Gemmell (Celtic 1967, 1970)
Gerd Müller (Bayern München 1974, 1975)
Franz Roth (Bayern München 1975, 1976)
Phil Neal (Liverpool 1977, 1984)
Raúl González (Real Madrid 2000, 2002)
Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona 2006, 2009)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona 2009, 2011)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United 2008, Real Madrid 2014, 2017)
Mario Mandžukić (Bayern München 2013, Juventus 2017)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid 2014, 2016)




Comments are closed.