FULL LIST: Keyamo, 29 others named Senior Advocates of Nigeria

Photo: Bellanaija

The Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, Hadizatu Mustapha, made the announcement in Abuja while briefing journalists at the end of the committee’s 127th meeting.

Festus Keyamo, who is believed to have been unsuccessful on previous applications, is among the 30 new SANs.

Also, Oluwatoyin Bashorun, emerged as the only female approved for the legal rank among five females that applied.

Mr. Mustapha, who is the Secretary of LPPC, said 156 candidates applied for the prestigious rank out of which 123 qualified for the first round of interview.

According to her, 72 candidates proceeded to the final stage and 26 were admitted from the inner bar, while four were from the academic community.

She added that those from the academic community included Adedeji Adekunle, the Director-General of the National Institute for Advanced and Legal Studies.

“Out of the 30, four are lawyers from the academic community and we have 26 court room advocates that were so elevated, including one female.

“This is the first time that we have a high number of academic lecturers that were successful in the interview.”

The others from the academic community are Enefiok Essien of the University of Uyo, Sadiq Shikyl of the American University, Yola and Adebambo Adewopo, former Director-General, Nigerian Copyrights Commission.

The former Legal Adviser of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Olusola Oke, was also named SAN as well as the Attorney-General of Kwara, Kamaludeen Ajibade.

Mr. Mustapha added that the swearing-in of the new SANs would be in September, on a date that would be communicated to the public.

The LPPC is a committee created and empowered by the Legal Practitioners Act (Cap L11 LFN 2004) to award the rank of SAN to deserving lawyers.

It has its secretariat at the Supreme Court of Nigeria and is headed by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Walter Onnoghen, who is the chairman.

See Full List of new SANs

1. Chibuike Adindu Nwanne Nwokeukwu

2. Johnnie Nnaemeka Egwuonwu

3. Bert Chukwuneta Igwilo

4. Sylvester Emenike Elema

5. Ikenna Victor Egbuna

6. Wilcox Achace Abereton

7. Michael Abayomi Bisade Alliyu

8. Akinlolu Oluyinka Osinbajo

9. Francis Forum Egele

10. Prof. Enefiok Effiong Essien

11. Prof. Sadiq Slyvester Shikyl

12. Prof. Adebambo Anthony Adewopo

13. Prof. Adedeji Olusegun Adekunle

14. Olusola Alex Oke

15. Nasser Abdu Dangiri

16. Oluwatoyin Ajoke Bashorun

17. Emeka Peter Okpoko

18. Sani Hussani Garun-Gabbas

19. Abdul Atadoga Ibrahim

20. John Olusegun Odubela

21. Gboyega Sanmi Oyewole

22. Joshua Yusuf Musa

23. Ibrahim Sani Mohammed

24. Festus Egwarewa Keyamo

25. Ekemejero Ohwovoriole

26. Oyetola Oshobi

27. Sulaiman Usman

28. Kehinde Olamide Ogunwumiju

29. Chiesonu Igbojamuike Okpoko

30. Kamaldeen Adeyemi Ajibade



Comments are closed.